The World is a book, and …

The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page. ~St. Augustine

      Image 

        Ciao everyone! I have finally arrived in Europe. I left yesterday afternoon from Detroit International Airport at 4 p.m., I was up at 8:30 a.m. getting the little things packed, and waiting for my ride to the airport which was scheduled to pick me up at 11:00 a.m.. The airline recommended that I arrive at least three hours before departure, that wasn’t a problem, I arrived with plenty of time to make it and wait at the gate A-30. I then flew from Detroit to Amsterdam, I arrived in Amsterdam at 6:15-20 a.m.. From Amsterdam I flew to Zürich, where I then activated my Eurail pass at the train stations travel agent, and then waited about twenty-five minutes for one of many trains, and one bus that would bring me to the small Swiss village in which my cousin and her family live. 

          Along the way I took several photographs, and partnered with two lovely women from Texas, the dynamic duo known as Kim and Cookie. We helped each other out, making sure we were on the right train, heading in the right direction. At one point all three of us had to get off the train due to a landslide in a tunnel, and transfer to a bus, then after a forty minute ride, we were back on the train. Once I reached my village it was time to say adios to Kim and Cookie, they were continuing Italy. The workers of Swiss rail were very friendly, and pretty much all spoke English.

           After finally settling in with my family, I took a much need shower. I soon discovered that there is not much space in Switzerland, especially when it comes to showers. I am not a tall or big guy, I am 5’7″ and weigh about 155, however this shower made me feel 6’2″ and 250 pounds. 

           Just finished eating dinner, Italians good cooks and lovers of food. My Italian cousin made a wonderful dinner, a spinach pie, with two kinds of salads. One salad had a yogurt based dressing, and the other had a vinaigrette dressing. Then for desert had two pieces of sliced mellow, one slice of chocolate cake, and a small amount of Swiss chocolate. I am definitely going to have to run while on this adventure. My family is surprised at the amount of aqua aka water that I drink. I warned them when I first arrived that I like to drink lots of water. apparently they did not believe me until after dinner. Right now it is raining really hard, which is why there was a landslide Sunday or Monday, standing on their deck overlooking the mountains, you can see the water just gushing down the sides of the mountains. Tomorrow there is not supposed to be any rain, hopefully there isn’t and I can get out and do some exploring with the family and take some pictures. 

         This coming Sunday I will be taking a train from the village to Milano, then onto Rome. apparently this train route will get me to Rome in four hours, my Eurail pass should get me there, but I will check with the train station in the village to double-check, along with the help of my cousin. 

         Aside from the weather now, the train ride into the village was sunny. With the water of the lakes shimmering a nice unpolluted green color. There is a pool/spa I found on the visit Switzerland website, I will see if the family is interested in going to check it out, if they have not already been there already. 

        This adventurer is going to be signing off here soon. It is now 20:13 p.m. local time, aside from my two-hour nap, I am hoping that I can get plenty of sleep tonight. That is if I don’t make too many trips to the bathroom on account of all the aqua I have had. 

        Ciao!

2 thoughts on “The World is a book, and …

    • Keith, will do. I am going to do my best to update it at least once everyday. I had a update earlier, however in my sleep deprived state, I accidentally hit the delete button on my Mac. Which takes you back to the last page, therefore I lost the post I was working on. The second version is much shorter than the original that got deleted.

Leave a Reply

