Chiesa di San Pietro e Paolo

Went for a walk with my cousin Nico today, we walked up and down a steep path on side of the mountain to visit Chiesa di San Pietro e Paolo. A thirteenth-century church with a sixteenth-century portico added on. I am guessing three centuries without making any additions that the parishioners felt it was time for something new. One walks up the sixteenth-century steps of the portico, and comes to a big imposing wooden door that has secured to it a key that one has to turn to open the doors. Walking inside the natural light from the windows and a few electrical lights reveal the marvelous fresco paintings that adorn the walls and pillars. Now a days there are very few masses held in the church, instead concerts are held inside that I am told draw crowds that fill up this modestly sized thirteenth-century church. Upon leaving the chuch, and making sure to lock it, Nico and I continued down the gravel path towards the “modern” church, which has modest adornments. After spending a several minutes inside  we left and headed for the car. 

         On the car ride home we stopped at the cafè that Nico and her husband used to own. I had a local beer called Eichof which had a nice pleasant taste to it., and my cousin had a glass of sparkling water. It was very nice, very relaxing after all the climbing, and walking we did. There were guys playing cards inside and out, sipping on their beer, and cappuccinos. Smoking inside was outlawed a year or two ago, before that I was told it was particularly bad in the winter. With the smoke forming a fog inside the cafè. 

         After the cafè we headed off to get some fresh bread for dinner. Upon arriving home, I downloaded the pictures of the church, as well as the climb up and down the path. As always most of them in my opinion are not worth posting, however that is the perfectionist in me coming out. I will always remember being told by my mom as well as the art teacher of my high school. That for every twenty-four frame roll of film you shoot, you will most likely get three to six images that you really like, and just double that number when it comes to a roll of thirty-six frames. 

         Dinner again was another fabulous meal, it is going to make it hard when I go home. Of course I will do my best to replicate the recipes, however one thing that is tough to replicate is the feeling of community that comes with a meal. Language is not important when you are sharing a meal or a drink, just knowing that you are spending quality time with those you love is enough for me. 

          After dinner Nico took me up to a high point in the village so I could see it from above. Then afterwards she showed me the old part of the village. Were talking homes so old that they are now historic and can only be repaired a specific way due to their historical significance. The roofs of these buildings are layered stone, up to today I thought they were shingles of some kind. Well I was WRONG! 

          My friend Ray, and I am sure others will appreciate this. I had two epiphanies, the first one is I want to learn Italian as best as I can. After all most people in Europe speak at least two languages, and I would like to be able to speak a little bit with my family in their native language, instead of having ninety-nine percent of what I say translated. Secondly, I want to come back. The latter sooner rather than later. To accomplish both will not be easy, and I know will take quite a bit of work and dedication on my part. However, all I can do is take it one day at a time, for we are not promised tomorrow. Which is why I do my best to live everyday to its fullest, most days I succeed, and some I fail. As they say Carpe Diem!

         Image

        Until next time. Ciao!

          P.S. Tomorrow sometime I will make a post about the “old” part of the village. 

         P.P.S. I would like to thank all my readers, especially the people reading this in countries I never thought would read my blog. I am talking about you India, Laos People’s Democratic Republic, and Poland. 

Leave a Reply

