Ciao Aquilonia, Italy

Ciao! Well my time in Aquilonia, Italy is over, after a fourteen-hour bus ride I am back in my cousin Nico’s Swiss village.

That is where I am at now, let me tell you how I got here.

The last night in Aquilonia, my family and I gathered around to enjoy what was to be our second to last meal together. It was again another lovely meal pasta, spicy sausage, breads, and cheeses, with some fresh fruit for dessert. As well as some conversation thrown in here and there, even some English was spoken. After a bottle of Dreher beer it was up to shower and head to bed.

Saturday morning I walked to eight a.m. mass at Santa Maria church, sitting next to Nico’s aunt who is a nun, though just before mass a woman she knew came and sat in-between us. I caught this woman looking at me once during mass, most likely wondering why I was not responding to anything during the mass up to that point. Well the reason became clear when during the sign of peace, I said peace in English. It was a pleasant mass in a beautiful church in the heart of a beautiful village.

After mass I wondered around a bit taking some photographs here and there before returning home to see if Nico still wanted to check out the open air market that was being set-up as I walked to church. She was of course up and wide awake, just needed ten-minutes to get ready. Then we proceeded to walk up and down the main street checking out the stalls, looking for a hall way carpet to match another one she had at her home. Luckily we found one, while not the same color, was not too drastically different from the first carpet.

Finishing up we headed to the Aquilonia Museo(Museum) only to find it closed when the hours on the sign indicated that it should in fact be opened. Walking back to the main square across from Santa Maria church the site of a wedding that day, we ran into Paola, Nico’s niece, who’s boyfriend runs marketing for the village. He made a phone call, and found someone who would be willing to open the Museo for us and let us walk around.
The man we met was amazing, letting us walk around the first floor all by ourselves checking out the wonderful exhibits that chronicled Aquilonia’s past all the way up to its present. Then running a little pressed for time(it was a Saturday, and he is a volunteer) our guide gave us a tour of the downstairs part of the Museo which is HUGE! He even gave us a tour of their research library which contained letters from one of Italy’s most famous writers(whom I cannot recall I now), as well as showed us a letter signed by future Pope Paul VI. I highly recommend if you are ever in Aquilonia, Italy that you check out their fine Museo, you will not be disappointed.

After the Museo it was back to my aunts house for our last meal, before we would shortly head for the bus. They asked what I wanted for lunch the night before, I said keep it simple nothing fancy, pasta is fine with me. A fine baked ziti is what I received along with the usual bread, spicy sausage, cheese, and fresh fruit. Then it was time to take a quick power nap, as I knew I would not get much sleep on the fourteen-hour bus ride back to Switzerland. Which in fact I did not. I said good-bye to my aunt, cousins, and other family, hoping that another thirty-three years will not go by again before my next visit. Then Michele drove Nico and I to the bus stop which happened to be a gas station that has a bar. I’d like to see someone in the U.S. attempt to get a few of these gas/bar’s setup. Shortly after arriving the bus arrived and we were off, for a uneventful fourteen-hour bus ride. Well the woman behind me did snore when SHE was able to sleep.

Off to a cookout here in a few minutes, looking forward to my first Swiss barbecue! Will post some of the last pictures I took in Aquilonia, Italy when I get back.

Until next time. Ciao!

4 thoughts on “Ciao Aquilonia, Italy

  1. AWESOME adventure…SEE!!!, people can detect a REAL adventure & they chip in to play along!
    …spicy sausage from Italy sounds amazing. When will you be in Paris?

  2. My family is from Aquilonia as well. My great grandfather came to America in 1905. Would you happen to know the best way of contacting the town or people there? I’m trying to see if any of my relatives may still be there. Thanks, Andrew

Leave a Reply

