Cardiff Day Two

“No man is brave that has never walked a hundred miles. If you want to know the truth of who you are, walk until not a person knows your name. Travel is the great leveler, the great teacher, bitter as medicine, crueller than mirror-glass. A long stretch of road will teach you more about yourself that a hundred years of quiet introspection.”

~Patrick Rothfuss

         Well it was my last day in Cardiff, I got up early headed into the city center by bus which only took about twenty-minute. Then I hopped on to another bus and headed towards Cardiff Bay to visit the Doctor Who Experience, which was AWESOME! I did not realize it when I booked my tickets that the Doctor Who Experience opened the day before my visit. I arrived about forty-minutes before my scheduled tour, I grabbed a yogurt, water, and some jelly. While I was wanting to pay, I ran into another U.S. citizen who is over here in the UK doing some work. After my snack it was time to enter the line. There is a thirty-minute guided experience, which involves Doctor talking to you via video screens, asking for your help, also included is a little 3D show. Once the experience is over, you enter the museum part, which I took probably a little over an hour to hour and a half to go through. There is everything from the first several Doctors sonic screw drivers to real props used in the various the show. As well as real costumes or replicas of costumes worn not only by the Doctors, but monsters and aliens. I urge all Doctor Who fans to check out the Doctor Who Experience if they are ever in Cardiff, Wales.

Image

Image

 

My first Doctor, one of my favorites, though I was a little bummed to hear he didn’t want to be any part of the Five Doctors movie.

Image

 

Here I am standing in front of the Tardis. Had a fellow Whovian take my picture. 

Image

Three “dolls” from one of this past seasons episodes. 

Image

The current Doctor played by Matt Smith standing in front of the Tardis being used in the show.

          After the Doctor Who Experience I walked some more down by the bay, took some pictures of a few spots used in the show Torchwood. Below is one of the locations that was used in the show.

Image

            Near the bay just in front of the opera house was a sight seeing bus tour stop, I waited for the next bus to arrive, then I hoped on and did the complete loop, then on the next stop nearest to where I arrived by bus in the morning I hopped off. I walked around for a short time, before heading back to North Cardiff by bus. 

            Once I arrived back at the Park Inn at North Cardiff, I took a shower, relaxed for a bit. Then ordered some Indian spicy lamb curry with rice. It was super spice and delicious. Then I stayed up and watched Another 48 Hours, though I fell asleep the last ten minutes of the movie. 

            Woke up the next morning, did my last-minute packing, then took a cab to the train station and waited about an hour for the train that would take me in London. 

Image

Image

The clock on the wall of one of the last pubs I visited for the night. 

      Until next time. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

