Edinburgh, Scotland!

     Arrived in Edinburgh, Scotland on time from Kings Cross station(London, England), once I got off the train my friend Ray was waiting for me with a  handful of tourist brochures for the area. He then took me to get my bus pass, that way I don’t have to worry about carrying change for the bus, it’s all prepaid. Then it was off to his house, which is about thirty-minutes outside of Edinburgh’s city centre. His parents were at his house, and had made a lovely baked potato, some greens, and some anti-pasta. After dinner I settled into my room.

        The following day, I went into the city to meet Ray for a bite to eat after he was done working. Prior to meeting Ray I walked around the Sir Walter Scott monument, and walked up one of many hills to were the Olympic rings were on display. I believe last year the city hosted the Olympics for sailing/yachting. Then I walked past the National Gallery(which I most likely will visit either this weekend or sometime next week). When I caught up with Ray, we went and, ate at an Italian owned fish and chips(fries) shoppe. Ray has been friends with the owner for around ten-years. Lovely place, love family owned businesses. We both ordered fish and chips, I put this brown sauce on my fish and chips, the sauce is amazing. Definitely going to have to look for some in states. 

Image

Image 

The back of the Sir William Scott monument.

Image

The front of the Sir William Scott monument. 

After lunch we headed back to Ray’s where we discussed what I wanted to do. Ray suggested we take a drive around the area and check out two castles nearby, which are both hotels. The first also had a Falconer, as well as a few Owls, and of course a falcon.

Image

Image

Another view of the castle. 

Image

Magnificent bird.

The next stop was another castle turned hotel, this one wasn’t as impressive.

Image

Next on the list of stops was the Temple which is an old church that was originally built-in the twelfth-century, used by Knights Templars then and now. As you can image some very old tombstones, and the church itself is very impressive for a twelfth-century building.

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

      Next on the list was a reservoir, unfortunately by the time we got to it was lightly raining.

Image

Image

Image

         Then it was back to Ray’s to eat dinner, and watch a Billy Connelly dvd, after the dvd it was off to bed. 

 

         Friday, It was back into Edinburgh to visit Edinburgh Castle where I saw the firing of the canon-timer at 1 o’clock sharp. I toured the castle before the canon-timer was fired, it took me a little over an hour and a half. Even got to see Scotland’s crown jewels. 

Image

Entrance into the castle.

Image

Mr. Gnome enjoying the lovely views from the castle.Image

Image

Red Arrows flying over Edinburgh Castle in their Hawk T1A planes. 

The canon-timer getting ready and firing the shot.

Image

Image

Finally….

Image

Just after this I left the castle, headed back down the Royal Mile towards town. On the way down, I asked for a brochure from a girl working for the Whiskey Tasting Experience, she then informed me they were doing a free tasting from one of the many distilleries in the area. I had three lovely samples from the same distillery.

Image

After the whiskey tasting, I stopped at the Deacon Pub just down the street for a pint. Then it was off to the Surgeon’s Hall Museum with a little dental museum as well. 

Image

Image

Once I left the museum, it was off to buy the Guardian newspaper, and catch the next bus back to Ray’s home. That is where I am now located getting ready for dinner and the opening ceremonies of the Olympics. 

      Until next time!

3 thoughts on “Edinburgh, Scotland!

  1. Hey Jim, if you see any beer mats (coasters) that you can pack home I’d love to have some from one of the breweries or pubs. Chris

Leave a Reply

